Proceedings of the Board of Education Independent School District #2180 Regular Meeting #7 January 13, 2020 6:00 PM

High School Media Center

Members Present: Lane Schwitters, Deb Brandt, Scott Ruiter, Tate Mueller, Carmel Thein, Julie Alsum Others Present: Sherri Broderius, Superintendent; Melissa Sparks, HS Principal; Judd Wheatley, Elementary Principal, Kim Sandry, Business Manager, Jim Trulock, Activities Director, Denise Smith, Community Ed Director, Sam Peterson, Newspaper.

Chairman Lane Schwitters called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Thein, second by Mueller to approve the agenda. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Annual Reorganization:

Election of Officers:

Board Chair:

Nominations: Lane Schwitters by Brandt.

Schwitters declared Board Chair.

Vice Chair:

Nomination: Brandt by Mueller. Brandt declined. Alsum by Thein.

Alsum declared Vice-Chair.

Clerk:

Nominations: Thein by Alsum.

Thein declared clerk.

Treasurer:

Nominations: Scott Ruiter by Brandt.

Ruiter declared Treasurer.

Committee Appointments:

Motion by Thein, second by Brandt, to appoint the following board members to the committees as listed. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Community Education: Deb Brandt Continuing Education: Carmel Thein District Advisory Committee: Tate Mueller

Facilities/Health and Safety: Tate Mueller, Julie Alsum, Carmel Thein Finance/Negotiations: Lane Schwitters, Scott Ruiter, Carmel Thein.

LCTN Governing Board: Julie Alsum

Legislative Liaison (MSBA/MREA): Deb Brandt Transportation: Julie Alsum, Tate Mueller

Board Compensation Rates:

Motion by Thein, second by Alsum, to set the Board compensation rates as listed below. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Regular Board meeting: \$100 Committee Meeting: \$75

Meetings over 4 hours: \$100 All Day Working Sessions: \$100 MSBA/MREA Workshops: \$75

MSBA/MREA Workshops over 4 hours: \$100

Chair: \$500 Clerk: \$100 Treasurer: \$100

Mileage: Federal Mileage Rate \$.575

Official Designation:

Motion by Brandt, second by Ruiter, to set the official designations as follows. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Depositories: Citizen's Alliance Bank, Heritage Bank, MSDLAF

Meeting Dates: Second Monday of every month in the Media Center at the High School

Meeting Time: 6:00 pm

Official Newspaper: Clara City Herald

Notification Methods: District Office, MACCRAY website

Legal Counsel: Kennedy and Graven, Chartered

Signature Authorizations:

Motion by Thein, second by Brandt, to set the following signature authorizations as follows. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Electronic Fund Transfers – Kim Sandry, Business Manager

- Cathy Schueler, Accounts Payable/Student Activities
- Nicole Kray Niemeyer Payroll/Purchasing
- Scott Ruiter, Treasurer
- Lane Schwitters, Chair

All Other Accounts and CD's: Kim Sandry, Business Manager

Cathy Schueler, Accounts Payable/Student Activities

Nicole Kray Niemeyer, Payroll/Purchasing

Safe Keeping Investment Securities:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Alsum, to authorize the Business Manager to make investments in Federally insured/secured accounts which will yield the greatest interest rates and approve United Banker's Bank as Safe keeper of Citizen's Alliance Bank's pledged collateral as required by MN Statute 118A.03. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Public Comment - None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

Motion by Alsum, second by Mueller, to approve the consent agenda as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Communications Reports:

Denise Smith, Comm. Ed: Fall/Winter highlights/participation, Winter/Spring booklet, Elementary Traveling Teams, Facility Requests.

Jim Trulock, Activities Report: Activities update

Judd Wheatley, Elem Report: 5th grade pajama drive results and student work.

Melissa Sparks, HS Report: Food shelf volunteers, Vaping info, WCCEO

Sherri Broderius, Supt: Bond Sale, Calendars, SRTS, Kids in the Kitchen Committee: Carmel and Julie reported on POC work (Building committee)

Discussion Items:

Business Items:

Motion by Thein, second by Alsum, to appoint Sherri Broderius to act as the Identified Official with Authority (IoWA) and Kim Sandry as the IoWA to add and remove names only for the MACCRAY School District 2180-01. Call vote: Schwitters, yes, Alsum, yes, Brandt, yes, Thein, yes, Ruiter, yes, Mueller, yes. Resolution passed.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Mueller, to approve the first and final reading of Policy 613 – Graduation Requirements with language added about service learning. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Brandt, second by Alsum, to approve the first and final reading of Policy 611 – Homeschooling. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Alsum, second by Ruiter, to approve the contract for PACT for Families Membership. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Mueller, to approve Seniority List for the 2019-2020 School year. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Alsum, second by Ruiter, to approve one additional year of 4-day week before the next renewal opportunity. Motion carried by 5-1 vote. Brandt opposed.

Motion by Thein, second by Ruiter, to approve the early start in Fall of 2020 (Aug. 18, 2020), an early out in the Spring of 2021 (May 13, 2021) and a late start in the Fall of 2021 (Sept. 14, 2021) for construction purposes. Motion carried 4-2. Brandt and Mueller opposed.

Motion by Mueller, second by Ruiter, to approve the PEHVAC agreement for CTE classes. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Alsum, second by Ruiter, to approve the Facility Use Request for the MACCRAY High School by the Senate District 17 DFL Party for their District Convention Meeting on Saturday, March 21 at 10:30am to 12:30pm. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Meetings and Workshops:

Special Board Meeting, Wed. Jan. 29, 5pm, HS Media Center, Agenda: Bond Sale. Regular Board Meeting, Feb. 10, 6:00pm HS Media Center.

Adjournment of Meeting

Motion by Brandt, second by Thein, for adjournment. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Meeting adjourned at 7:42 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Carmel Thein, Clerk Kim Sandry